Australia Beat India to Seal ODI Series Win

Photo By Robert Drummond - IMG_2690, CC0, Link
Photo By Robert Drummond - IMG_2690, CC0, Link

The Reliance Stadium in Vadodara once again came alive as a large audience gathered for the 2nd ODI between India and Australia.

The Australian side led by Meg Lanning seemed to be in their best form, having spectacularly won the previous matches.

Mithali Raj, who had missed the previous match owing to a viral fever, was back in action.

Mithali Raj | By <a rel="nofollow" class="external text" href="">Robert Drummond</a> - <a rel="nofollow" class="external text" href="">IMG_2651</a>, <a href="" title="Creative Commons Zero, Public Domain Dedication">CC0</a>, <a href="">Link</a>
Mithali Raj | Photo By Robert DrummondIMG_2651, CC0, Link


India won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Australia Innings

Nicole Bolton, who had had a great start to the tournament with a century in the first match, again played a stellar innings of 84 runs off 88 balls. Ellyse Perry’s spectacular 70* off 70 and a crucial knock of 56 off 40 by Beth Mooney helped the Australian side put up a staggering total of 287/9 on the scoreboard after 50 overs.

Ellyse Perry | By Robert Drummond - IMG_2705, CC0, Link
Ellyse Perry | Photo By Robert DrummondIMG_2705, CC0, Link

Shikha Pandey was the highest wicket-taker for India.

India Innings

Smriti Mandhana starred for India in the initial overs as she scored 67 off 53 balls. But the Indian batting order once again fell prey to a collapse as wickets continued to fall. The side was all out for 227 in 49.2 overs.

Perhaps the 30 quick runs by the young Pooja Vastrakar was the silver lining for India. They lost the match, but there is definitely a talent in the youngster that India might want to focus on.

Once again, it was Jess Jonassen who remained the highest wicket-taker for Australia. She took the crucial wicket of Smriti Mandhana while Ellyse Perry claimed the Indian captain’s wicket.

Australia Seal ODI Series

Australia won the match by 60 runs, and with it, they have sealed the ODI series which they now lead 2-0.

Nicole Bolton was declared the Player of the Match for the second consecutive ODI.

The third and final ODI will take place on 18th March, Sunday. While the series has been sealed, the final match still remains important as ICC Championship points are up for grabs.


1st ODI12th March 20189:00 am IST
2nd ODI15th March 20189:00 am IST
3rd ODI18th March 20189:00 am IST


India SquadAustralia Squad
Mithali Raj (captain)Meg Lanning (captain)
Deepti SharmaAlyssa Healy
Ekta BishtAmanda Wellington
Harmanpreet KaurAshleigh Gardner
Jemimah RodriguesBelinda Vakarewa
Mona MeshramBeth Mooney
Pooja VastrakarEllyse Perry
Poonam YadavElyse Villani
Punam RautJess Jonassen
Rajeshwari GayakwadMegan Schutt
Shikha PandeyNicola Carey
Smriti MandhanaNicole Bolton
Sukanya ParidaRachael Haynes
Sushma VermaSophie Molineux
Veda Krishnamurthy

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.