India Claim 3-1 Series Win Against South Africa


The final T20 match between India and South Africa was played at Newlands, Cape Town on 24th February. The previous match had been washed out, making this one an important match for both the teams.


South Africa won the toss and elected to bowl.

India Innings

After losing the early wicket of Smriti Mandhana, it was Mithali Raj’s stellar 62 off 50 balls and Jemimah Rodrigues’ 44 off 34, along with Harmanpreet Kaur’s 2 sixes that helped India reach a commanding total of 166/4 in 20 overs.

South Africa Innings

South Africa faced major setbacks as they started their innings. As Indian pacer, Rumeli Dhar claimed the early wickets of openers Lee and van Niekerk, Shikha Pandey and Rajeshwari Gayakwad also claimed a number of big wickets. The side was eventually bundled out for 112 in 18 overs. Marizanne Kapp (27 off 21) was the highest run-scorer for South Africa.

India won by 54 runs.

The Player of the Match was Mithali Raj.

Series Win

With the final T20, India won the T20 series 3-1. Earlier on this tour, India had also won the ODI series 2-1.

The Player of the Series was Mithali Raj. Having scored 192 runs in this T20 series, Mithali Raj now ranks third on the list of players with most runs in a bilateral T20I series in women’s cricket.

It was a historic series win for India as they clinched both ODI and T20 series titles.


The T20 squads for both the teams are listed as follows.


Anuja Patil, Deepti Sharma, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Jemimah Rodrigues, Rumeli Dhar, Mithali Raj, Nuzhat Parween, Pooja Vastrakar, Poonam Yadav, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Smriti Mandhana, Taniya Bhatia, Veda Krishnamurthy

South Africa

Ayabonga Khaka, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk(c), Lizelle Lee, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Klaas, Mignon du Preez, Moseline Daniels, Nadine de Klerk, Odine Kirsten, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Shabnim Ismail, Sune Luus, Trisha Chetty

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.