India’s Tour of South Africa: India Clinch T20 Series 2-1


Played at Newlands, Cape Town, the third and final T20 match between India and South Africa was also to decide which side would claim the T20 series.


South Africa won the toss and elected to bowl.

India Innings

India faced an early setback as Junior Dala claimed Rohit Sharma’s wicket. Shikhar Dhawan’s 47 off 40 balls and Suresh Raina’s 43 off 27 balls helped anchor India’s innings. India finished their innings at 172/7 in 20 overs.

South Africa Innings

South Africa took their time to build their innings as they chased a target of 173. However, despite the efforts by Jean-Paul Duminy (55 off 41) and Christiaan Jonker (49 off 24), the hosts fell just 7 runs short of the target. At the end of 20 overs, South Africa were 165/6.

India won the match by 7 runs.

Suresh Raina, who was called up for India’s T20 squad, was declared the Player of the Match.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who showed an exemplary performance during the series, especially with the knuckleball, was named the Player of the Series.

India Clinch T20 Series

After the spectacular ODI series win, India also bagged the T20 series 2-1. While South Africa had dominated the test series and won 2-1, India clinched both the limited over series.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.