Kia Super League 2018

Cricket Stadium | Photo by Marcus Wallis on Unsplash
Photo by Marcus Wallis on Unsplash

Kia Super League 2018

An exciting summer is set to unfold for cricket fans as Kia Super League 2018 kicks off in England. The inaugural KSL tournament was held in 2016, and since then the excitement around the event has grown consistently. The game has garnered fans from across the world, and with the Women’s World T20 to be held in November, this year’s domestic T20 tournaments will be particularly interesting to watch.

Western Storm and Southern Vipers have won the 2016 and 2017 titles respectively.

Featuring 6 teams playing in T20 format, the tournament progresses from a Round Robin stage to knockout stages. Out of the top three teams from the Round Robin stage, the second and third-placed teams meet for the semi-final. The final takes place between the team placed first in the Round Robin stage and the semi-final winner.

Overseas Players

Kia Super League also features some of the best players from across the world. Among these, Suzie Bates, New Zealand captain, is set to lead Southern Vipers in this year’s edition of KSL.

West Indies captain Stafanie Taylor who displayed the remarkable achievement of being the leading run-scorer as well as the leading wicket-taker in KSL 2016 will once again join the defending champions, Western Storm.

South Africa captain Dane van Niekerk, along with her team mates Lizelle Lee and Marizanne Kapp, will be joining the Surrey Stars.

KSL 2018 will also feature Australian openers Beth Mooney and Nicole Bolton as well as their team mates Elyse Villani and Rachael Haynes.

This year, two Indian players will feature in KSL for the first time. Smriti Mandhana has made a spectacular debut for Western Storm, while Harmanpreet Kaur will be seen in action later this week.


Lancashire Thunder
Led by Danielle Hazelle

Home Ground Emirates Old Trafford

Loughborough Lightning
Led by Georgia Elwiss

Home Ground Haslegrave Ground, Loughborough

Surrey Stars
Led by Natalie Sciver

Home Ground The Oval and Woodbridge Road, Guildford

Southern Vipers
Led by Suzie Bates

Home Ground Ageas Bowl 

Western Storm
Led by Heather Knight

Home Ground County Ground, Taunton, Bristol County Ground

Yorkshire Diamonds
Led by Lauren Winfield

Home Ground Headingley Cricket Ground

Points Table

Unlike most other leagues, KSL incorporates run rates into the points table by a type of quantization. This means that if a team has a run rate of 1.25 times that of the opposition, then it is awarded a bonus point. Consequently, wins with a bonus point accrue 5 points while those without a bonus point are awarded 4 points. In case of a tie or no result, two points are awarded to each of the teams.

Schedules and Results

DateTime Match VenueResult
22nd July13.30 GMTSurrey StarsvsSouthern VipersWoodbridge Road, GuildfordSouthern Vipers won by 7 wickets
22nd July13.30 GMTWestern StormvsYorkshire DiamondsCooper Associates County Ground, TauntonWestern Storm won by 7 wickets
22nd July13.30 GMTLancashire ThundervsLoughborough LightningTrafalgar Road Ground, SouthportLoughborough Lightning won by 6 wickets
25th July18:00 GMTSouthern VipersvsLoughborough LightningThe Ageas Bowl, SouthamptonLoughborough Lightning won by 6 wickets
26th July13.30 GMTWestern StormvsSurrey StarsCollege Ground, CheltenhamSurrey Stars won by 7 wickets
27th July13.30 GMTYorkshire DiamondsvsLancashire ThunderEmerald Headingley, LeedsLancashire Thunder won by 33 runs
29th July11:00 GMTWestern StormvsLoughborough LightningCooper Associates County Ground, TauntonWestern Storm won by 18 runs
29th July13.30 GMTSurrey StarsvsYorkshire DiamondsWoodbridge Road, GuildfordMatch abandoned
29th July13.30 GMTLancashire ThundervsSouthern VipersAigburth, LiverpoolLancashire thunder won by 4 runs
31st July13.30 GMTSouthern VipersvsWestern StormArundel Castle, ArundelWestern Storm won by 9 wickets
31st July13.30 GMTSurrey StarsvsLancashire ThunderThe Kia Oval, LondonLancashire Thunder won by 5 wicketss
31st July15:00 GMTLoughborough LightningvsYorkshire DiamondsHaslegrave Ground, LoughboroughLoughborough Lightning won by 41 runs
2nd August13.30 GMTYorkshire DiamondsvsSouthern VipersYork Cricket Club, YorkYorkshire Diamonds won by 12 runs
2nd August15:00 GMTLoughborough LightningvsSurrey StarsHaslegrave Ground, LoughboroughLoughborough Lightning won by 9 wickets
3rd August13.30 GMTLancashire ThundervsWestern StormEmirates Old Trafford, ManchesterWestern Storm won by 7 wickets
4th August13.30 GMTLoughborough LightningvsSouthern VipersHaslegrave Ground, LoughboroughLoughborough Lightning won by 3 wickets
5th August13.30 GMTYorkshire DiamondsvsWestern StormNorth Marine Road Ground, ScarboroughWestern Storm won by 7 wickets
7th August13.30 GMTLanacashire ThundervsSurrey StarsEmirates Old Trafford, ManchesterSurrey Stars won by 55 runs
8th August13.30 GMTSouthern VipersvsYorkshire DiamondsThe Ageas Bowl, SouthamptonSouthern Vipers won by 16 runs
9th August13.30 GMTSurrey StarsvsLoughborough LightningWoodbridge Road, GuildfordSurrey Stars won by 7 wickets
9th August15:30 GMTWestern StormvsLancashire ThunderCooper Associates County Ground, TauntonWestern Storm won by 76 runs
11th August13.30 GMTLoughborough LightningvsLancashire ThunderHaslegrave Ground, LoughboroughLoughborough Lightning won by 9 wickets
11th August13.30 GMTWestern StormvsSouthern VipersBristol County Ground, BristolNo result
12th August13.30 GMTYorkshire DiamondsvsSurrey StarsYork Cricket Club, YorkYorkshire Diamonds won by 9 wickets
14th August13.30 GMTSouthern VipersvsSurrey StarsThe 1st Central County Ground, HoveSurrey Stars won by 4 wickets
14th August13.30 GMTLancashire ThundervsYorkshire DiamondsStanley Park, BlackpoolLancashire Thunder won by 9 runs
15th August14:00 GMTLoughborough LightningvsWestern StormEdgbaston, BirminghamLoughborough Lightning won by 9 wickets
18th August18:00 GMTSouthern VipersvsLancashire ThunderThe Ageas Bowl, SouthamptonLancashire Thunder won by 9 runs
18th August18:00 GMTYorkshire DiamondsvsLoughborough LightningEmerald Headingley. LeedsYorkshire Diamonds won by 3 runs
18th August18:00 GMTSurrey StarsvsWestern StormThe Kia Oval, LondonSurrey Stars won by 5 wickets
27th August11:00 GMTWestern StormvsSurrey StarsThe 1st Central County Ground, Hove
27th August15:00 GMTLoughborough LightningvsSemi-final winnerThe 1st Central County Ground, Hove

Where to Watch

Sky Sports will telecast 12 KSL matches in the UK.

Fans in India may follow live scores and updates on the official ECB website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.