Sri Lanka Beat Favourites India in First Nidahas Trophy Match

Sri Lanka Beat Favourites India
Sri Lanka Beat Favourites India | Picture Credit: Pixabay

Sri Lanka Beat Favourites India in First Nidahas Trophy Match

The Nidahas Trophy which has three teams competing for the crown, kick-started on Tuesday, 6th March. The tri-nation series will see India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka play two matches each before the final. The tournament is being organized to mark Sri Lanka’s 70th Independence Day. In their first Nidahas Trophy match, Sri Lanka beat favourites India to gain a two-point lead in the points table. Meanwhile, Indian fans wonder whether the presence of the ‘big six’ could have turned around India’s fate.

The venue for the match was the R.Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.


Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl first.

India Innings

India faced two early shocks as captain Rohit Sharma departed for a duck and Suresh Raina, whose comeback had been in focus, was bowled out at 1. With two big wickets down, the Indian side was left in a tough situation early in the innings.

For India, it was once again Shikhar Dhawan to the rescue as he blasted a colossal 90 off 49 balls. Striking up a partnership with Manish Pandey helped India move towards a stable total from the feeble 9/2 at the beginning.

At the end of 20 overs, India concluded with 174/5 on the scoreboard.

Sri Lanka Innings

Openers Danushka Gunathilaka (19 off 12 balls) and Kusal Mendis (11 off 6 balls) gave a suitable start to their innings. Kusal Perera brought on his attack with a stellar 66 in just 37 balls, bringing Sri Lanka in a match-winning position.

However, as a clever stumping from the Indian wicket-keeper put an end to Perera’s fiery innings, and soon after Indian spinner Yuzvendra Chahal claimed the wickets of Dinesh Chandimal and Upul Tharanga, India seemed to be coming back into the game.

The final blow to India came in the form of a partnership between Dasun Shanaka and Thisara Perera. A steady build-up of runs and a number of boundaries in the eighteenth over sealed the match for Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets with 9 balls to spare. Kusal Perera was declared the Player of the Match.

A major win for Sri Lanka as they begin their Nidahas Trophy campaign on a successful note.

Meanwhile, it may be worth noting here that as T20 captain, this was Rohit Sharma’s first loss in five T20s.

The Road Ahead

Five matches remain to be played before the awaited final. India meet Bangladesh on Thursday for their next match, while Sri Lanka will face Bangladesh on Saturday.

Nihadas Trophy Schedule

1st T206th March 2018Sri LankavIndia
2nd T208th March 2018BangladeshvIndia
3rd T2010th March 2018Sri LankavBangladesh
4th T2012th March 2018Sri LankavIndia
5th T2014th March 2018BangladeshvIndia
6th T2016th March 2018Sri LankavBangladesh
Final18th March 2018TBDvTBD


India SquadBangaldesh SquadSri Lanka Squad
Yuzvendra ChahalTamim IqbalUpul Tharanga
Washington SundarSoumya SarkarThisara Perera
Vijay ShankarSabbir RahmanSuranga Lakmal
Suresh RainaRubel HossainNuwan Pradeep
Shikhar DhawanNurul HasanKusal Perera
Shardul ThakurNazmul IslamKusal Mendis
Rohit Sharma(c)Mustafizur RahmanJeevan Mendis
Rishabh PantMushfiqur RahimIsuru Udana
Mohammed SirajMehidy HasanDushmantha Chameera
Manish PandeyMahmudullah (c)Dinesh Chandimal(c)
Lokesh RahulLiton DasDhananjaya de Silva
Jaydev UnadkatImrul KayesDasun Shanaka
Dinesh KarthikAriful HaqueDanushka Gunathilaka
Deepak HoodaAbu JayedAmila Aponso
Axar PatelAbu Hider RonyAkila Dananjaya
Taskin Ahmed

Points Table

Sri Lanka has gained a two-point lead in the points table. Starting the series with a loss, India are placed third on the table.

Nidahas Trophy - Points Table

TeamMatches PlayesMatches WonMatches LostMatches TiedNo ResultNRRPoints
Sri Lanka11000+0.7592

Live Score

Stay tuned for cricket live scores here.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.